Diabetes1 Forumss

Forum

>
Topic Title: Dry Feet
Created On: 02/11/2010 01:48 AM

02/17/2010 05:42 PM

Author Icon
FatCatAnna

[p]Hey Jazzsushi - I've never seen a podiatrist in my life (wonder what they would say about my painted turquoise toenails)! I guess tho' it probably would be a good thing to do if you are having issues. At the West Island Diabetes Association meeting on April 7th we're having a few ladies from a foot care clinic come in to discuss taking care of our feet. Maybe, brrrh, even tho' it'll be still cool here in Montreal, maybe I'll change into my sandals so they can examine my feet. What do you think? [/p]
 02/14/2010 08:43 PM

Author Icon
FatCatAnna

[p][font face="verdana,geneva" size="2"]Yes, you're right, I didn't know as well that our feet change over time. Believe it or not, I've recently discovered that I've been wearing the incorrect size of shoes for about the last 10 years! I have gone down a size in my foot wear. Thought it would be the opposite as we age, as you'd think our feet would get bigger with standing on them all the time, and I'm no light weight girl. [/font][/p][p][font face="verdana,geneva" size="2"]Since going to the proper size of footwear, no more rubbing of shoes, callouses, etc. Makes a big difference. The only thing is because when I worked in the office I had LOTS of shoes, they are now all slip/slide on me. So, they're going to go the Salvation Army for someone else to use (they are all in good shape as I take good care of my footwear). I'm like you tho' prefer to be barefoot, you'll find it hard when you move out east, but in the house here, I wear either flip flops or Crocs, it all depends on the temperature outside. Again, if you can find socks made from bamboo (I only bought them as they were on sale, otherwise I'd never have bought them), you will find them not so bad to wear. Feels like I'm wearing nothing (they are anklets).[/font][/p]
 02/14/2010 08:31 PM

Author Icon
Diabetic_Iz_Me